2017 MBYLL AO Scholarship & McCrae Williams Memorial Leadership Award Winners Announced

From Joey Picard, Director of MBYLL Communications:

It is our great honor and pride to announce the winners of the 2017 MBYLL Player & AO Scholarships who will each receive the 1st Annual McCrae Williams Memorial Leadership Award.

We had many terrific and impressive applicants from all over the league who provided incredible insights and reflections on their definition of Leadership as well as the importance of town-based youth lacrosse. Our volunteer Scholarship Committee had the nearly impossible task of narrowing the selection and choosing winners. We’re incredibly proud of all the former MBYLL athletes as well as our pool of remarkable AOs. These were all extraordinary young men who have given a great deal to this sport, this league, and their home town programs. This is a chance for all of us, collectively, to take some pride in the caliber of athletes and the character of human beings we have in Massachusetts. Job well done to all!

Winner of our 2017 MBYLL Player Scholarship & McCrae Williams Memorial Leadership Award is:

Michael McLaughlin, Stoughton Youth Lacrosse

Winner of our 2017 MBYLL AO Scholarship & McCrae Williams Memorial Leadership Award is:

Trevor Carroll, Norwood Youth Lacrosse

Michael & Trevor will receive $500 scholarships on behalf of Mass Bay Youth Lacrosse League. They will be recognized at a future Boston Cannons game and will serve as ambassadors of our league, along with past recipients Declan Buckley of Walpole Youth Lacrosse and Ryan Frost of Georgetown Youth Lacrosse.

They will also be given the McCrae Williams Memorial Leadership Award which recognizes their contribution to the sport off-the-field and in their communities. This award is named after the late McCrae James Williams of Weston Youth Lacrosse, a former MBYLL player and accomplished Associate Official. To learn more about McCrae’s legacy and the impact he had on the sport locally and internationally, please visit the website of the McCrae James Williams Foundation.

Congratulations to our Scholarship Winners!